A LETTER FROM ME TO YOU

letter im.jpg

To my friends in Syria, Myanmar, Northern Nigeria, Yemen, Palestine, Western Xinjiang (Uighurs), CAR, Somalia and in other war torn countries. Not a day passes by without me thinking of you, I see your sufferings on a daily basis and this makes my heart pause.

I may not feel what you feel and I’ve not experienced what you’re experiencing but my thoughts are constantly with you. I want you to know that we are in this together, we are humans side by side and we’ll fight these atrocities however we can. Some remain silent, some are not bothered and some just call it another “conspiracy theory”. But I know you need help and it pains me that I can’t do so much but I assure you one thing; I won’t keep silent.

I sleep and sometimes dream, I dream of utopia-a world where difference in religion, tribe and colour doesn’t matter, a world filled with mutual love, a world where we can sleep with both eyes closed.  This is indeed not too much to ask of, in fact this should be our default setting but we’ve changed, we’ve let hate have a place in our hearts but I won’t, I’ll keep on loving you like my own cause we are humans side by side.

                                                                                                                                                  From me,                                   your friend

To those in their comfort zone the very least we can do is to remember them in our prayers and spread love wherever we find ourselves. This lyrics from a song by sami yusuf perfectly captures everything.

“Forgotten Promises”

Tonight the world will sleep
But hunger will not wait
For promises we made
We share one soul
We share one land
We have one time to understand

We are one humankind
Brothers side by side
We’ll have no regret
We will not forget
We are one humankind
Sisters side by side
We’ll have no regret
We will not forget

[Arabic]
Samihna ya Allah
Forgive us o lord

Wa irrhamna ya rabbah
Have mercy on us o lord

Wa imnah rizqaka lil-afwah
Give your bounty to the mouths

Wa abi’d anha kul al-aah
And keep away from them all the moans and groans

Our words must count
Hunger will not wait
For promises we made
We share one soul
We share one land
We have one time to understand

We are one humankind
Brothers side by side
We’ll have no regret
We will not forget
We are one humankind
Sisters side by side
We’ll have no regret
We will not forget

[Arabic]
Samihna ya Allah
Forgive us o lord

Wa irrhamna ya rabbah
Have mercy on us o lord

Wa imnah rizqaka lil-afwah
Give your bounty to the mouths

Wa abi’d anha kul al-aah
And keep away from them all the moans and groans

Our words must count
Hunger will not wait
For promises we made

Leave a Reply

